6641057331_7b768fa595_z

Where to snowboard & ski in the UK

The collective success of Team GB at this year’s Winter Olympics has given British snowboarding & skiing some well earned recognition, and inspired a nation of budding winter sports ‘noobs’ to get out there and learn to ski or snowboard.

Young or old, it’s never too late to get involved in skiing or snowboarding, you just need the right determination, a moderate level of fitness, and of course somewhere to practice.

We may not have many snow covered mountains or glaciers here in the UK, but what we do have is a great selection of purpose built dry slopes and snow domes which are ideal for anyone keen on trying their hand (or feet) at snow sports.

So if you live in the UK and are looking for somewhere to ski or snowboard, check out the list below, which features more than 70 ski and snowboard centres across England, Scotland and Wales.

Ski & snowboard centres in England

Avon

Mendip Snowsport Centre – http://mendipsnowsport.co.uk/

Berkshire

Bracknell Ski Centre – http://mendipsnowsport.co.uk/

SKIPLEX LTD – http://www.skiplex.co.uk/

Buckinghamshire

Snozone Milton Keynes – https://snozoneuk.com/

Wycombe Summit Ski and Snowboard Centre – http://www.wycombesummit.co.uk/

Cheshire

Runcorn Ski Centre – http://runcornski.weebly.com/

Cumbria

Carlisle Snowsports – http://www.carlislesnowsports.co.uk/

Kendal Ski Centre – http://www.kendalsnowsportsclub.co.uk/

The Lake District Ski Club, Raise – http://www.ldscsnowski.co.uk/

Yad Moss – http://www.yadmoss.co.uk/

Derbyshire

Swadlincote Ski & Snowboard Centre – http://jnlswadlincote.co.uk/

Devon

Exeter & District Ski Club – http://www.exeterskiclub.org.uk/

Plymouth Ski Centre – http://jnlplymouth.co.uk/

Torquay Alpine Ski Club – http://www.skitorquay.co.uk/

Dorset

Snowtrax – Outdoor Activity Centre – http://www.snowtrax.eu/

The Dorset Snowsport Centre – http://www.dorsetsnowsportcentre.co.uk/

East Sussex

Bowles Snowsports Centre – http://www.bowles.ac/outdoor-activities/skiing-snow-boarding

Essex

Brentwood Park Ski and Snowboard Centre – http://www.brentwoodskicentre.co.uk/

Gloucestershire

Gloucester Ski & Snowboard Centre – http://www.gloucesterski.com/default.aspx

Greater Manchester

Chill Factore – http://www.chillfactore.com/

Hampshire

Alpine Snowsports Centre Aldershot – http://www.activenation.org.uk/leisure-centre/alpine-snowsports-centre-aldershot/

Calshot Activities Centre – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/calshot.htm

SKIPLEX – http://www.skiplex.co.uk/

Southampton Alpine Centre – http://www.activenation.org.uk/leisure-centre/alpine-snowsports-centre-southampton/

Hertfordshire

Bassingbourn Snowsports Centre – http://www.skibass.org/

Gosling Ski & Board Centre – http://www.goslingsports.co.uk/sports/ski.php

The Snow Centre Hemel Hempstead – http://www.thesnowcentre.com/

Kent

Bromley Ski Centre – http://www.bromleyski.co.uk/

Chatham Ski Centre – http://jnlchatham.co.uk/

Folkestone Ski Centre – http://www.folkestonesportscentre.co.uk/facilities-ski.asp

Lancashire

Oval Sports Centre – http://www.ovalskiclub.com/

Pendle Ski Club – http://www.pendleskiclub.org/

Ski Rossendale – http://www.skirossendale.co.uk/

Lincolnshire

Tallington Ski and Snowboard Centre – http://www.tallington.com/land-activities/dry-ski-slope/#/land-activities/dry-ski-slope/

London

SKIPLEX  – http://www.skiplex.co.uk/

Norfolk

Norfolk Snowsports Club, Norwich – http://www.norfolksnowsports.com/

Northumberland

Ski-Allenheads – http://www.ski-allenheads.co.uk/

Weardale Ski Club – http://www.skiweardale.com/

Shropshire

Telford Snowboard & Ski Centre – http://www.telfordandwrekinleisure.co.uk/leisurecentres/info/15/ski_centre

South Yorkshire

Sheffield Ski Village – http://www.sheffieldskivillage.co.uk/

Staffordshire

Kidsgrove Ski Centre – http://www.ski-kidsgrove.co.uk/

Stoke Ski Centre – http://www.stokeskicentre.co.uk/

Tamworth Snowdome – http://www.snowdome.co.uk/

Suffolk

Suffolk Ski Centre – http://www.suffolkskicentre.co.uk/

Surrey

Christs College Ski Club – http://ccski.co.uk/

Sandown Ski Centre – http://www.sandownsports.co.uk/ski

Sussex

Knockhatch Ski Centre – http://www.knockhatchskicentre.co.uk/

Tyne & Wear

Whickham Thorns Outdoor Activity Centre – http://www.gateshead.gov.uk/Leisure%20and%20Culture/sports1/facilities/whickham/home.aspx

Sunderland Snowsports Centre – http://www.sunderland.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=1915

West Midlands

Ackers Outdoor Activity Centre – http://www.ackers-adventure.co.uk/activities/ski-snowboard

West Yorkshire

Halifax Ski & Snowboard Centre – http://www.ridehalifax.co.uk/ski_snowboarding_centre_halifax_west_yorkshire/

Snozone Castleford – https://snozoneuk.com/

 

Ski & snowboard centres in Scotland

Aberdeenshire

Aberdeen Snowsports Centre – http://www.skiaberdeen.com/

Alford Snow Sports Centre – http://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/sport/skicentres/alford.asp

Glenshee Ski Centre – http://www.ski-glenshee.co.uk/

Lecht Ski and Activity Centre – http://www.lecht.co.uk/

 Argyll

Glencoe Ski Centre – http://www.glencoemountain.co.uk/

 Ayrshire

Newmilns Dry Ski Slope – http://www.skinewmilns.co.uk/

Clackmannanshire

Firpark Ski Centre – http://www.clacksweb.org.uk/culture/firparkskicentre/

Cromartyshire

Ballater Ski Slope – http://www.skiclub.co.uk/skiclub/infoandadvice/uksnowsports/centre.aspx?intContactID=94033#.Uvzjj1568y4

Glasgow

Bearsden Ski & Board Club – http://www.skibearsden.co.uk/

 Highland & Islands

Nevis Range – http://www.nevisrange.co.uk/

Aviemore and Glenmore Snowsports Hire and School – http://www.aviemoreski.co.uk/

Inverness-Shire

Cairngorm – http://www.cairngormmountain.org/

Loch Insh Watersports & Skiing Centre – http://www.lochinsh.com/

Lanarkshire

Glasgow Ski Centre – http://www.ski-glasgow.org/

Lothian

Meadowmill Sport and Ski Centre – http://www.enjoyleisure.com/Centre.aspx?comp_id=6

Midlothian

Midlothian Ski Centre – http://www.midlothian.gov.uk/info/200131/snowsports_centre

Renfrewshire

Snow Factor – http://www.snowfactor.com/

Stirlingshire

Polmonthill Ski Centre – http://www.falkirkcommunitytrust.org/venues/polmonthill-ski-centre/

Tayside

Ancrum Outdoor Education Centre – http://www.ancrum.com/

Ski & snowboard centres in Wales

Cardiganshire

Llangrannog Ski Centre – http://www.urdd.org/en/llangrannog/skiing-centre

Dyfed

Pembrey Ski Slope – http://www.discovercarmarthenshire.com/family/country-parks.html

Gwent

Pontypool Ski Centre – http://www.torfaenleisuretrust.co.uk/en/ski

Gwynedd

Llandudno Ski and Snowboard Centre – http://jnlllandudno.co.uk/

Plas-y-Brenin Centre Mountain Sports Centre – http://www.pyb.co.uk/

Cover via trysil
The following two tabs change content below.

Matt B

Snowboarder | Cyclist | Rookie SUPer